Week 2 5th Thing Social Networking

March 2, 2010 pinkbrick

25 things first time around got me to set up my Facebook account and I haven’t looked back since.

In October last year I managed to  get in touch with a friend from college who I had lost contact with and since then had a fab weekend in Thirsk with her and her daughter – because of Facebook

My DS1 is away at Uni and being ‘Friends’  means that I manage to see all the photos he is tagged in,  I avoid commenting on them to save his embarrassment because they are usually of the occasional night out he has in between all that studying.  I also use the Chat facility to keep up to date with his exploits or rather he pops up whilst I am working to ask for money – I am expecting him to pop up soon as he is about to need some more contact lenses.  DS2 though wont let me be his ‘Friend – ‘ and ever since getting the girlfriend has severed his link with his dad.  Probably realised I had set up OH account so could snoop on him anyway.

Many of  my Friends post interesting links to activities going on locally and one certain Friend is definitely broadening my horizons with her interesting links.

But what I am really addicted to is FARMVILLE and many of my friends are purely so that they can be my neighbours in the game.  Having become a fan of a group I then posted that I could use some more neighbours and now have them from all over the world, 2 have become friends with the offer of a house swap in Key West and the other offering me a bed if I am ever in Texas after we had a long chat one night when she was going through a particular hard time.  My sons keep saying, me and the old man are sad but 80 million people playing it cant be wrong.  I am surprised how long I have been playing since August last year and am expecting the novelty to wear off  as the evenings get lighter.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. missdragonara  |  March 3, 2010 at 8:17 am

    My neices and nephew chat to me on facebook – but then they are too young to worry about the beery pictures. I love seeing the things my friends tag – whether it is news or exhibitions or pictures of the veg from their allotments…

  • 2. purchasingfairy  |  March 3, 2010 at 11:05 am

    So many people have told me recently how much they hate FB – so it’s nice to know someone else shares my love of it – even if they also share my unfortunate habit of student offspring stalking!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

old bricks

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Blogroll

 
