Week 7 Google Maps

April 6, 2010 pinkbrick

This week is quite an easy week for me as I am a sworn user of Google Maps.  I love the new Street View feature and when on a visit to Sheffield, I impressed all be getting from the car park to Pizza Express chatting away as though I knew the shops and pubs we were passing, when in fact I had checked the route out on Google maps before setting off.

I very rarely set off on a journey without consulting google maps for directions and length of time the journey should take (I always add a bit extra) My husband uses it every week for getting to our son’s football matches. (we haven’t got a Sat Nav)

At the weekend I wish I had checked out where I was going on Google maps but put my faith in my friend’s Sat Nav.  Me and my friend know how we like to get to the other side of Manchester – it is apparently the wrong way and Sat Nav didn’t like it,  in the end to find Timperley station we resorted to an OS walking map – not really suitable but we got there.

I did check out directions to Nerja in Spain rather than Madrid (mother lives in Nerja) and it is 1597 miles away (as my husband says just the right distance for a mother in law) and it would take 1 day and 2 hours to drive there.  Out of interest I checked out walking it and that would be 11 days 15 hours but most of that time is on a ferry but rather strangely it took me via Dublin – St Malo – Plymouth-Santander!!!!!!!!

I have used the satellite view on Google Maps to also check out locations of Camp-sites when we go on holiday,  If there is a bit of coast I fancy I have a look round on Satellite and can usually find a place I fancy.  Sometimes camp-site descriptions state 5 minute walk to beach a quick look on Google Maps and you can tell they mean if you run it.  I fell foul of this on 2 occasions when the kids were young if only we had had Google Maps then.

Last year I set up my own Map of London in preparation of  a trip we had booked and it did help us maximise our time.  I placed all the definite plans we had on the Map and was then able to plan routes around the city that were interesting.  I may do it again this month for our trip to Edinburgh.

Google Earth is also very addictive I have been known to sit for hours on the old Laptop just browsing around but it does make you realise how small we all are in the big scheme of things.

Right now  going to check out the Camp-site I am off to in my one woman tent next week.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

old bricks

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Twitter Updates

Blogroll

 
